[G.U.I.S.] Chikyuu Sentai Fiveman (Review)

1-001
Good ol’ G.U.I.S. is amongst our most prestigious groups, and something just told me that I had to review them next. Though my choice of series here may seem a little out of the blue… Alas, these are still the only Fiveman subs we’ve got and that probably won’t be changing anytime soon.


GENERAL INFO

Subs By: Grown Ups In Spandex [G.U.I.S.]
Format: .MKV (Softsubbed)
Website: http://www.grownupsinspandex.com

Episode(s) Reviewed: 01 – 04; 07; 12 (v1)


VISUAL APPEAL

1-002
1-003
1-0041-005

You get Old Sans Black! And you get Old Sans Black! We all get Old Sans Black!!! Joking aside, this is more or less the standard fare from tokusatsu subbers so it’s fine I guess. Besides, it’s not unappealing or anything… Just kinda boring


THE SCRIPT

Before we begin, I’d like to point this out real quick…

1-006
1-007

Repetition was an issue all throughout, and I found it really bogged down the writing. There was also a surprising lack of contractions and some untranslated dialogue here and there, but I don’t think they were quite as bothersome

1-008
1-009

Let’s ignore that ‘the the’ for a moment and focus on the wording itself. “Among those was the remote planet Sidon, a family from Earth was trying to bring the planet back to life.” I think there was a slight mix up here? Try something more like “Among them was Sidon, a remote planet that a family from Earth was trying to bring back to life.”

1-010

Terms such as ‘flora’ or ‘fauna’ would be more suitable for her, considering she’s a space scientist or something

1-011

I think this was a translation error? This was Mom’s response to seeing their alien friends run off towards the flowers. What I hear is “Abunai!”. If anybody fluent in Japanese is curious enough to check, the timestamp is 0:04:23.19 (Episode 01)

1-012

“We’ve already destroyed this planet once before.”
Though with that said, I feel like ‘destroyed’ may not have been the most appropriate word choice considering Sidon is clearly still there?

1-014

I’m not sure if these would count as “errors” per se, but this whole period + comma thing really rustles my jimmies

1-015

“We’re trying to eat here!”

1-016
1-017

The wording for these flashbacks are different from the actual scenes

1-018

>is near to becoming of the
I… Uh… Perhaps..?

1-020

I’m really iffy on the students addressing their teachers (the Fivemen) as “professor”. I mean, I don’t know, maybe it could work with Red since he teaches Science, but all of them? This little girl is speaking to Pink, so. Also, “Professor” should be capitalized because it’s their title in place of their name

1-021

Same here. Should be ‘Mom’ and ‘Dad’

1-022

The expression is “Keep a cool head.”

1-023

You’re walking amongst the baddies right now, so it should be ‘their’ language

1-025
1-024

Inconsistency, Pt. I

1-026

Are you telling me ‘nobody’ on the QC team raised an eyebrow at this wording?! Am I just a sick human being? Huh?? Anyway, err, I’d go with something more along the lines of “Taking control of a child.” ’cause yeah…

1-027
1-028
1-029

As far as I’m concerned, you guys just missed (*Snort*) the perfect opportunity to use “Bullseye!”

1-030

“Mr. Hoshikawa, I’m sorry! School was just so boring without you!”

1-031
1-032

I have to be honest and say I’m not the best at using commas either, but these seemed pretty obvious to me

1-033
1-034

Inconsistency, Pt. II

1-035

Wat

1-036

I’d go with “Zone’s victory is assured.” or something

1-037
1-038

The title just sorta leaves and never comes back…
Some Dork In Audience: “Just like my ex-wife!”

1-039

I’m genuinely scratching my head at this one… Is this a thing people say? This is after Billion scoffs at the others who are dancing and having a good time, so… I even turned to Google just in case, but nothing came up :S

1-040

I would’ve suggested “To hell with tests!”

1-041

He’s a police officer, so I’m sure he means “law”

1-042

See this? He’s drunk. He even hiccups a little, and it’s the cutest thing in the world.
He’s a good dog, Zone

1-043

The wording here makes it sound like Dongoros disapproves (IE: “That was a cheap shot!”), when that couldn’t be farther from the truth. I would’ve gone with something more like “cost-effective”

1-044

Because I try to front like I’m a good writer (I’m really not all that), I would’ve handled this more like “But at this rate, I’ll lose the only family I have left!” since their parents are long gone

1-045

I’d suggest “Earth will share the same fate as the other 999 planets we’ve destroyed!”

1-046

This was overlooked somehow (and it’s not the only time)

1-047

I’d wager this is more likely to be “Takt”, as in the German word for the batons used by orchestral conductors and such. The word can also mean like “tempo” or “beat” in English, which are all music related as well. “Tact” is something else entirely, look it up

1-048

Remi’s hungover, so I think “My head is killing me!” would’ve been a better fit

1-049

You want “Whose”

1-050

This is a very peculiar way to say “That’s low!” :X

1-051

We Americans just say “Math” without the ‘s’. “Maths” is British English

1-053

But over here, you use “mustache” which is the spelling partial to American English. I don’t have a preference, but I do think it’s important to choose one and stick with it. Also, I’d rewrite this to “My precious moustache!”

1-052

“You can do anything if you put your mind to it!”

1-054

Too bad Kazumi wasn’t a spelling teacher, huh? :^)

1-055

You mean “didn’t” ’cause you just used it

1-056

I’m guessing this was actually meant to be the British expression “Are you taking the piss?”, which I’m only familiar with thanks to some old gaming buddies from Europe (thanks fellas). ‘n~n Getting it wrong is one thing, but I would’ve advised against it altogether anyway since I feel like most people would need to look it up?

1-057

“Ow, I sprained my ankle!”

1-058
1-059

This is nitpick to the max, but I think adding a hyphen to match the onscreen text would’ve been a nice touch

1-060
1-061
1-062

Inconsistency, Pt. III


FINAL THOUGHTS

…Well, I don’t know. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel a bit let down. Despite looking over a mere six episodes, I had spotted some 300 issues (if not more). Surely that’s a record or something… D: Still, I intend to handle these reviews seriously and don’t wanna be biased just because I like a group y’know? There were QC issues up the wazoo. And the writing, while not without its moments, had oddness to spare. At best, I’d say the subs just felt too plain for their own good.

But in all fairness, G.U.I.S. is much better now than they were five years ago so. I’m sure they’d do an excellent job if they were to do Fiveman today. :1

GRADE: C

Leave a Reply

